Why are Guatemalan Eggs not refrigerated?

I love Guatemala Eggs because they are not refrigerated.

I love Guatemala Eggs because they are not refrigerated.

I love Guatemala Eggs because they are not refrigerated.

Now that statement or headline will send all those refrigerated egg lovers into a tail spin. My god what can you be thinking buying un refrigerated eggs in and open market in Guatemala. Are you crazy? Yes for taste of a real Egg.

Perhaps I am, the eggs in Antigua Guatemala taste like eggs used to taste before all the genetic engineers got involved in egg production. I make a lot of omelet with the eggs from Guatemala and to compare them to US or Canadian eggs let me add two statements.

  1. First tastes I cannot remember tasting what a real egg tasted like till I returned to Guatemala.
  2. Second you remember the rules about eggs for an Omelet need to be beaten 30 strokes with a silver fork to make them light and fluffy.

Okay the eggs her in Guatemala have incredible taste and they fluff up in an Omelet like you have never seen.

Each day I shop at the Antigua market for everything we eat. Beef, Pork and Poultry out on the open or hanging on meat hooks. Aging naturally I say.  I see eggs on ever part of the market out in the open air lacking any sign of refrigeration ever in that eggs life.

Also all brown eggs in Guatemala a fact that in the US and Canada brown eggs get a premium price over white eggs. Go figure those egg marketing guys. Since Chickens and other egg-laying creatures are widely kept throughout the world, and mass production of chicken eggs is a global industry.

Speaking of the cost of eggs. In Guatemala Eggs (12) $1.50 Thats right grade A extra large eggs in Guatemala cost about $1.50 a dozen. Yes Guatemala does have different sizes and grades of eggs.

 Guatemala Eggs at the MarketGuatemala Eggs at the Market

Should eggs be stored the fridge?

Although fridges come with an egg tray, I read somewhere that putting eggs into the fridge actually makes them degenerate quicker – something to do with the cold and pressure change encouraging air into the shell. Yes and we can continue with all the debates about Eggs are they good for you?

Can anyone enlighten me?


Leave a Reply

